top of page

Has plastic surgery made us lazy or just liars?

I worked very hard to lose weight. It took consistently going to the gym for 2 years until I landed at the right weight I was comfortable with and I would always strive to work on staying at. Meaning it was not a magical act where I snapped my fingers to get a body I was happy with. Well, it did not take an operation to get me to the body I desired.

I’m sure I’m not the only @KhaleejiGirl who has gone through the enormous amounts of efforts seen over strenuous hours just to get fit and healthy. So, I’m going to give a shout out to all of the people both men and women who made the effort to take care of themselves and their health.

But what I cannot and will not even respect is those who undergo plastic surgery and come out with this magical Kim Kardashian looking body overnight. But worst of all is those who have the audacity to say that they have “worked hard to get like this”. I’m sorry? I’ve found most people who respond that way have quit very easily and did not think of the negative ramifications behind such surgery could have on their body in the long run. In fact, according to quora.com it states that some of the cons behind undergoing plastic surgery include, “infection, severe bleeding, nerve damage that may lead to numbness, tissue death.” Though the list of the disadvantages may go on, and while I do understand how plastic surgery can be used for good reasons where some people actually have vital medical reasons to undergo it, I can’t help but think or rather see that many in the Middle East are undergoing it as an excuse for joining a gym and working hard.

Have many of us become so vain that we’d risk our health nay our lives just for the sake of our beauty and looks?

bottom of page