top of page

Coffee: An Elixir of Life by @latte_scout

I'm definitely one of those people who cannot function without a morning cup of coffee. Such a cliche, but I feel that I really cannot begin my day, accordingly, without my morning cup. My husband truly doesn't understand this logic. He is not a coffee drinker so I guess it would be really tricky to explain it to him. My fellow coffee lovers get it: coffee is the perfect way to begin a day.

I begin my morning routine by waking up...slowly. By now I'm sure you've concluded that I am not morning person. My personality seems to blossom after my first sip. Evidently, after much debate on my love for coffee, my darling husband has become my personal barista. Although he does not drink coffee, he has mastered my morning cup- even topped with the perfect amount of froth! One of my favorite things about him is that even though he does not like something, he can see how much it means to me and puts in the effort. I recently purchased a Nespresso Machine which has made his life a lot easier. Before we would use a French Press and a little milk frother from Ikea. I mean whatever works for you and what you have available to you. You can make the perfect latte on a budget as well. Here are some of my tried and tested methods: Old school method: French press and milk frother both bought from Ikea. I use ground coffee from Starbucks. I found that the Blonde roast and Espresso roast are both effective. I prefer the lighter roasts, that are not too strong, so I found these to match my taste buds the best. For milk, I use full fat milk because it's just my preference, but you can get really creative with milk substitutes from almond milk to coconut to even oat. I found that the full fat froths well with the frother. This method does take a little longer because you have to wait for the coffee to brew enough to get the flavor as well as warm the milk before frothing. Easier method: You can't get more convenient than a pod machine! I used to use the Dolce Gusto machine. My favorite pod was their cappuccino because of the milk pod that comes with it: you honestly get a really creamy cup of coffee. However, after some research I found the pods to be a little high on the calorie count. They are also more expensive than other choices. I decided to shift to the Nespress Machine. They were having a crazy deal which I couldn't refuse. I bought a simple pod machine along with a separate milk frother. I'm as happy as can be. I enjoy trying all their pods. My favorite has to be the Columbia (pink pod). It's not too strong which I like. The milk frother is amazing and froths in two different modes. I usually save the extra frother for my weekend cup. My only note would be to take the time to keep your machine clean. Look after it and it will look after you. On the go: My on the go coffee is simple: I now use a great little travel mug that I purchased from The Loft and drink it on my way to work. I find that now that I am a mom, on the go coffee drinking is the way to go because I simply don't have time to drink my morning cup before leaving the house. Every now and then I treat myself to a coffee from a coffee shop. I have to leave the house super early so I don't have a large variety of places to choose from because the more spcialty stores open much later. However, my go- to spot would definitely be Starbucks. The service is quick and the coffee is consistent. I also like to venture in there every now and again to see their latest mug selection and specials, like their Toffee Nut Latte! I also like how they now sell reusable travel cups so you can help reduce the plastic waste! Weekend cup: On the weekend is my time to sit with my family and enjoy my morning cup. My husband prepares it for me and I usually opt for a more special pod like the creme brulé pod as well as the more froth option on my frother. I will then sit and sip my coffee while watching my son play. There is no better way to start my day. Mugs: I don't know about you, but for me, the mug that I drink in makes a huge difference. One of the things I'm missing the most is going to restaurants and drinking from an actual ceramic mug. The paper cup is just not the same. At home, I have a variety of mugs. The bigger the better. My new favorite is my Nespresso mug which is a no- handle ceramic mug. It's my new obsession and I'm constantly on the lookout for places who sell them as they are a little tricky to find. A morning cup of coffee can really set the tone for your day. Whether in a funky mug, an extra special roast from a fancier machine or a simple instant coffee, I hope it brings you the happiness and determination to live your day to the fullest.


bottom of page