top of page

International women’s day


Happy international women’s day @Khaleejigirl! Obviously, women should be celebrated every day. However, because all of us are unique and awesome, I find it troubling that only some women were highlighted and even singled out on diverse social media accounts. When March 8 came around this year, of course I went on social media as I do on a daily basis. I ran into a popular Bahraini account that will remain nameless that did exactly that- highlighting and mentioning a selection of women who are successful in their own realm while leaving other unknown yet still successful women unmentioned. Have we come to a point of popularity and beauty really matters even when it’s our day? Really?


This element really upset me and not because KhaleejiGirl wasn’t mentioned. It was actually because I did not understand what this company’s ranking was based on when it came to selecting such women. True, there were no awards given out on that day, but because of that shouldn’t inclusivity be further insisted on?

bottom of page