top of page

Mother’s Day hurts


I remember every year I’d always make it a point to gift my mother on this day. Even if the gift was mega simple like a card when I was in elementary school or lilies because those were her favorite flowers or even chocolates. I remember all I wanted was to see that smile on her face- a smile that is engrained in my memory forever more. Happy Mother’s Day to the best mother anyone could have ever had. Since you’ve been gone, trust me, I miss you like crazy. I know you’re in a better place. None of us wanted to see you suffer from breast cancer anymore. So much so, that I was relieved when God took you away because I knew that was the end of your suffering. So yes, it may sound odd that I was happy, but at that moment I would like to believe I wasn’t being selfish aching for my mom to be with us forever. It was her time to be forever ingrained in your minds and memories. So happy Mother’s Day mama. I hope I’m making you proud and I hope to see you soon in a better place.




bottom of page